Who are the MassOptions Partners?

MassOptions partners include:

Aging and Disability Resource Consortia (ADRC)

There are 11 regional Aging and Disability Resource Consortia (ADRC).  Each ADRC includes three organizations: Aging Services Access Points (ASAPs), Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) and Independent Living Centers (ILCs).  An ADRC will help you access community long-term services and supports (LTSS).  Each ADRC provides individuals across all ages and abilities with reliable information about home or community-based services, as well as facility-based LTSS.  ADRC agencies follow principles of consumer choice, person-centered decision-making, cultural competency and accessibility.

Aging Services Access Points (ASAPs)

There are 26 ASAPs statewide, each serving a specific geographic area.  ASAPs are consumer-driven non-profit organizations with governing boards made up of persons age 60 and older.  ASAPs use an interdisciplinary model to provide:  intake; information and referral services; needs assessments; screening and clinical eligibility determinations for individuals seeking facility and community-based services and supports; care management; comprehensive service plan development and monitoring; and purchasing of services.  

Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs)

Area Agencies on Aging formed by the Older American’s Act  are responsible for assuring that nutrition, health, and human services are made available to individuals age 60 and over in the communities where they live.  In Massachusetts Area Agencies on Aging are often co-located with Aging Services Access Points. AAAs provide:  health promotion; information and assistance; legal assistance; nutrition services, including congregate and home delivered meals (i.e., Meals on Wheels); outreach services; services for family caregivers; and transportation services.

Independent Living Centers (ILCs)

Consumer-driven local community organizations with governing boards and staff comprised of not less than 51% of individuals with disabilities.  They advocate for a range of services and options that maximizes self-reliance and self-determination in all of life’s activities.  ILCs have roots in a civil rights movement of millions of Americans with disabilities called the Independent Living movement and operate under a philosophy of:  consumer control; cross disability efforts; dignity of risk and choice; and exercise of power. ILCs’ responsibilities include:  information and referral; peer counseling; skills training; and advocacy. 

Department of Developmental Services (DDS)

DDS provides an array of service to individuals who have intellectual disabilities and developmental disabilities including some individuals on the autism spectrum. DDS is available to people through their lifespan upon having met the eligibility criteria. Services will vary depending on need. The goal of the department is to provide services that support individuals to contribute and be part of their community.

Program and services include day supports, employment supports, residential supports, family supports, respite, and transportation.

 Department of Mental Health (DMH)

The Department of Mental Health (DMH) assures and provides access to services and supports to meet the mental health needs of individuals of all ages, enabling them to live, work, and participate in their communities.

 Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission (MRC)

MRC promotes equality, empowerment and independence of individuals with disabilities through enhancing and encouraging personal choice and the right to succeed or fail in the pursuit of independence and employment in the community.