click to open search panel
Page Menu

Mental Health

Mental Health services are rehabilitative and therapeutic services designed to meet the mental health needs of individuals, enabling them to live, work and participate in their communities.

The Children’s Behavioral Health Initiative (CBHI)

The Children’s Behavioral Health Initiative (CBHI) is a program that integrates care and services available across Massachusetts state agencies for families and their children with significant behavioral, emotional and mental health needs. CBHI serves MassHealth-enrolled children under age 21 with serious emotional disturbance (SED). Enhanced home and community-based behavioral health services are available through CBHI. For more information go the CBHI website.

Clubhouse Services

Clubhouse Services are programs that provide individuals with mental health or behavioral health needs with support services to develop skills in social networking, independent living, budgeting, accessing transportation, self-care, maintaining educational goals, and securing and retaining employment. Clubhouses help people live a productive and stable life in the community.  They are funded, in part, by the Department of Mental Health.

Adult Community Clinical Services (ACCS)

Adult Community Clinical Services (ACCS) provide rehabilitative interventions and supports intended to help individuals restore or maintain independent living, manage behavioral health, promote wellness, and manage medical conditions in the community. ACCS is administered through the Department of Mental Health.

Psychiatric Day Treatment

Psychiatric Day Treatment Services include diagnostic, treatment, and rehabilitative services provided to a person with mental illness who needs more active or inclusive treatment than is typically available through a weekly visit to a mental health center, individual Provider’s office or hospital outpatient department, but who does not need 24-hour hospitalization. Psychiatric Day Treatment services are administered through the Department of Mental Health and MassHealth.

Outpatient Behavioral Health Services

Outpatient Behavioral Health Services are mental health and substance use disorder services provided in-person in an ambulatory care setting such as a mental health center or substance use disorder clinic, hospital outpatient department, community health center, or practitioner’s office. Outpatient Behavioral Health Services are administered through the Department of Mental Health and MassHealth. 

Recovery Learning Communities (RLCs) 

Recovery Learning Communities (RLCs) are consumer-operated networks of self-help/peer support, information and referral, advocacy and training activities. RLCs are administered by the Department of Mental Health. 

Intensive Care Coordination 

ICC is a service that uses the Wraparound care planning process to coordinate multiple services and supports for youth with Serious Emotional Disturbance (SED). Involvement and participation in ICC is voluntary.

How does ICC help families?

A care coordinator is assigned to work with each youth and family enrolled in ICC. The care coordinator is responsible for working with the youth and family to:                                                                                              

  • Complete a risk management and safety plan
  • Conduct a comprehensive home-based assessment of the youth’s and family’s strengths and needs
  • Assemble a care planning team of the family’s preference made up of formal (e.g. teachers, state agency workers, etc.) and natural supports   (e.g. friends, neighbors, etc.) to help support the youth and family
  • Develop an individual care plan (ICP) that guides the family and team on pursuing goals identified by the care planning team
  • Make sure services and supports identified in the ICP are in place and coordinated

What are the eligibility requirements?

Intensive Care Coordination facilitates care planning and coordination of services for MassHealth youth, with serious emotional disturbance (SED), under the age of 21, and enrolled in MassHealth Standard or CommonHealth who meet the medical necessity criteria for this service.